By now, each recipient should have received their award cheque issued by the 

Lakehead Public School Board,

and in return, by now you should have sent in a picture

from your graduation as per our 

Terms and Conditions 

of the award. 

If you have not sent in your picture as of yet, please forward them to

If however, you have sent in your picture and you don't see it on this website, please 

contact us using the contact us form.

Thanks for your cooperation. 

  • 4:21

It was once again a pleasure for Bruce to present the selected winners from St. Ignatius with the MSSA on June 12th, 2019 to:

Westgate recipients were presented their award by Ms. Renée Larocque.  Congratulations to all four.

Bridget Steel not only sent her picture in to us for this website.  I received a thank you call from her as well.  

Interestingly, I also received a follow up call from her parents thanking us for the award given to Bridget.  This call not only took me by surprise, but it also warmed my heart, that a father would take time to call and say thank you.  

Mr. Steel also mentioned that he had heard the name of Moses Sheppard, but now by reading his biography, he had a better understanding of who Moses is and what he stands for. 

Thank You for the call. 

Renée Larocque (left)  in a group photo with 

the recipients of the MSSA.

Picture courtesy of Lola Halstead.


Thank You for the great photo.  This was a special presentation for Renée as it marked her 

10th Anniversary of her graduating from St. Pats.

Tonight, June 13th, 2019 some lucky students from St. Pat's will be receiving their MSSA award from Renée Larocque at the Thunder Bay Community Auditorium.  Good luck to all graduates.

Again, we would like to apologize to these four recipients of the MSSA.  

Due to a technical error we were unable to present this award to you at your convocation ceremony. 

You should have received it in the mail by now. 

Jordan Kutok

Please forward your pictures to us at: 


Part of the application process for the MSSA, is an agreement from the recipients to send their picture to us and also give us authority to use those pictures on the website and for the purpose of promoting the MSSA. 

Below, you will see the names of this year's recipients by school, and the student's name and picture.  Where a student's name is written in blue, that means there is a link to the thank you emails, notes or letters we received from that particular student.  In some cases, you will see a number written in blue, this indicates that we have received a thank you from the student via email, and, received another letter, note or card showing their appreciation for the financial support they have received from the MSSA. 

We thank each and every student for their hard work, and wish them great success in their future. 

Alyson Chasse

Congratulations to Bridget Steel, as she was the sole recipient of the MSSA from Superior.

Emma Hay

Bruce Curtola presented two Hammarskjold students with the Moses Sheppard Scholarship Award on June 11th, 2019.  Congratulations to:

Nyah Flannery-Hill

​​​Moses Sheppard Scholarship Award